The world is full of temptations. What are some of the biggest temptations for an entrepreneur?  I would have to say success, recognition, fame, money, etc. How many actually look beyond these? Why are these so important? Does the reason go beyond “self”?

Anyway, am not talking about these today. Exercising caution and being careful not to tread on anyone’s toes….one of the most important word an entrepreneur has to learn is #NO. We tend to immediately embrace anything that will inflate our ego. Nothing wrong with that right….or is there. This very much depends on the values we carry.

Heard of the adage “Less Is More”?

As of now I am literally at the crossroad….do I want to spell out precisely my thoughts and risk offending some people?

Let’s see if I can rephrase my words…. If someone is to offer you something in return for money though it’s “packaged” otherwise, would you accept? In other words, you are actually receiving it because you paid. Yet you go into the world proclaiming that it was not paid. Does that jive with your values or is it conflicting?

In my opinion, the world (except the minority) would not know the truth and thus you can continue dancing and basking in  glory. Yet the most important person knows…..who? YOU! Yes you/me know the truth. Are we cheating ourselves by believing in a lie?

I have been put in this situation time and time again. Each time without fail I have rejected them all….simply because it conflicts with my values. Recently I find myself such a situation again. This time the offer came from the top echelons of society. Wauzers! I never thot this would come from them. Because of the status of this person, nobody would ever question the validity (they know the truth in silence). Talk about strong temptations.

Well, after an evening of consideration, prayers and seeking the counsel of trusted friends I said NO! I turned the offer down. No doubt some folks may call me a fool but better a truthful fool than a lying glory.

As I prayed, am reminded of men whom God has sent my way…..who has shown me that their success and everything else needs no validation from anyone. They are super rich, super successful and yet remain completely anonymous. That’s to be respected.

Leave a Reply

