As I am wrapping my thoughts on couple of business matters, my mind is suddenly diverted back to one of business….#forklift parts, thanks to encouraging messages received from friends.

The once upon a time dreaded word to myself…FORKLIFT but which I have humbly learnt to embrace and respect. Most of the time, more common in the past, I would be greeted with looks of disbelief or confusion when I mention forklift. Some know not of forklifts, others think it’s a one company industry, etc etc etc. Basically hardly anybody has any idea or insights into this industry. The lost city of Atlantis is probably better known than forklift. I kid you not.

I have personally dabbled in other industries and have many a great successful friends in other industries. Coupled that with my personal hands-on experience in the forklift industry, I can and dare say that this industry is not for the faint hearted. It has to be for the most ‘stubborn’ and hardcore of characters. Forklift industry contributes in so many ways to various other industries, e.g. Port, warehousing, mills, etc and the economy as a whole and yet it’s almost invisible. I credit that to the culture of the industry that is inward looking, super low profile, unchanging and hardcore entrenched in tradition (diplomatic reference to resistance towards change).

From my day one in this industry back in 2002 and even till today, #EGAN has been religiously diligently preaching change to players within and beyond the industry. Proudly said, we are seeing the tangible fruits of our labour….invites to talk about this industry, the industry is better known, media highlights, etc. My industry peers are true warriors without doubt and without nerves of steel, one will be likened to being finger flicked by superman….yeah, flicked out of this world. Change is not a word or practise warmly welcomed but it is my hope that #EGAN can be the lighthouse to this industry, to encourage and show our peers that change is good. It will lift the industry, collectively, from good to great!

Today I stand proud proclaiming I am from the forklift industry and what a great industry it is.

So there you go folks…my humble brief thoughts. Now back to work. LOL

Leave a Reply

