My Office Parables

Jesus helps us understand so his teachings so much more via parables. Parables are interesting and easy to understand. As such, unconsciously I too have started this habit of speaking in parables to help my company staff understand certain points.

Recently a staff approached me for a favor. Spontaneously I put a question to him, asking him if he considered himself rajin (English: hardworking). Below is the summary of our conversation…

Staff asked for a favor. So I asked him if he considered himself #rajin?

Me: Do you consider yourself rajin?
Crew: Errr….
Me: Do you consider rajin?
Crew: Not sure le
Me: Do you consider rajin?
Crew: Yes
Me: On what basis?
Crew: I always do what I am told to do….
Me: That’s commendable. What about those untold?
Crew: *silence*
Me: Do you think a cow is rajin? They always do what they are told or pushed to do. Do you think a cow is rajin?
Crew: No *enlightened expression*
Me: Now you know the definition of rajin.

From this conversation and parable, I am certain, judging from his expression and tone of voice, he understood perfectly the true definition of rajin.

In my capacity as the business owner, I normally do not tell them an outright answer but use parables to help them understand and thru their own understanding, they will themselves make the right conclusions or decisions.

So thank you Jesus for being my good example in helping me communicate with my company staffs.

Leave a Reply

